Newly Elected Indonesian President, Joko “Jokowi” Widodo, Getting to Work


Joko Widodo waves ahead of his swearing in as Indonesia's seventh president at Parliament in Jakarta, Indonesia, Monday, Oct. 20, 2014.
Joko Widodo waves ahead of his swearing in as Indonesia’s seventh president at Parliament in Jakarta, Indonesia, Monday, Oct. 20, 2014.Mark Baker/AP Photo



Thousands of excited citizens gather at the Hotel Indonesia (HI) traffic circle in Central Jakarta for Pesta Rakyat (People’s Party), an event being held to celebrate the inauguration of Joko “Jokowi” Widodo and Jusuf Kalla as Indonesia’s new president and vice president, on Monday, Oct 20.

Riding in a horse-drawn carriage, Jokowi and Jusuf Kalla traveled from HI to the State Palace.


After taking the oath of office on Oct. 20, Joko “Jokowi” Widodo announced on Sunday his Cabinet lineup after delaying the announcement on Wednesday night, which prompted speculation that he was wrangling with leaders of political parties in his coalition who were insisting on nominating problematic candidates.

Jokowi’s Working Cabinet 2014-2019

New Indonesian President Joko Widodo (front C-L) and Vice President Jusuf Kalla (front C-R) pose for photos with their members of the Working Cabinet at the presidential palace in Jakarta. (Photo: AFP/Adek Berry)

1. Coordinating Political, Legal and Security Affairs Minister Tedjo Edhy Purdijatno (former Navy chief of staff 2008-2009/NasDem Party top executive)

2. Coordinating Economic Minister Sofyan Djalil (former state-owned enterprises minister)

3. Coordinating Maritime Affairs Minister Indroyono Susilo (an executive with the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

4. Coordinating Human Development and Culture Minister Puan Maharani (legislator/PDI-P top executive)

5. Home Minister Tjahjo Kumolo (legislator/PDI-P top executive)

6. Foreign Minister Retno Lestari Priansari Marsudi (Indonesian ambassador to the Netherlands)

7. Defense Minister Ryamizard Ryacudu (former Army chief of staff 2002-2004)

8. Law and Human Rights Minister Yasona H. Laoly (legislator/PDI-P politician)

9. Finance Minister Bambang Brodjonegoro (deputy finance minister)

10. Energy and Mineral Resources Minister Sudirman Said (PT Pindad president/former PT Pertamina executive)

11. Industry Minister Saleh Husin (Hanura Party politician)

12. Trade Minister Rahmat Gobel (businessman)

13. Environment and Forestry Minister Siti Nurbaya (NasDem politician/former civil servant)

14. Agriculture Minister Amran Sulaiman (Hasanuddin University lecturer)

15. Agrarian and Spatial Planning Minister Ferry Musyidan Baldan (NasDem Party politician)

16. Transportation Minister Ignasius Jonan (PT Kereta Api Indonesia president)

17. Maritime Affairs and Fisheries Minister Susi Pudjiastuti (owner of airline operator Susi Air)

18. Manpower Minister Hanif Dhakiri (PKB politician)

19. Public Works and Public Housing Minister Basuki Hadimuljono (Public Works Ministry top official)

20. Health Minister Nila Moeloek (Indonesian representatives for MDGs)

21. Culture and Elementary and Secondary Education Minister Anies Baswedan (Paramadina University rector).

22. Social Affairs Minister Khofifah Indra Parawansa (former women’s empowerment minister).

23. Religious Affairs Minister Lukman Hakim Saifuddin (current religious affairs minister)

24. Communications and Information Minister Rudiantara (PT Indosat commissioner, former top executives for PT Semen Indonesia, PT PLN, PT XL Axiata)

25. State Secretary Pratikno (Gadjah Mada University rector)

26. Research and Technology and Higher Education Minister M. Nasir (Diponegoro University rector)

27. Women’s Empowerment and Child Protection Minister Yohana Susana Yembise (Cendrawasih University lecturer)

28. Administrative and Bureaucratic Reform Minister Yuddy Chrisnandi (Hanura Party politician)

29. Villages, Disadvantaged Regions and Transmigration Minister Marwan Jafar (PKB politician)

30. National Development Planning Minister/National Development Planning Board (Bappenas) chief Andrinof Chaniago (University of Indonesia lecturer)

31. State-Owned Enterprises Minister Rini Soemarno (former trade minister 2001-2004/former PT Astra International president)

32. Cooperatives and Small and Medium Enterprises Minister AAGN Puspayoga (PDI-P politician)

33. Tourism Minister Arief Yahya (PT Telekomunikasi Indonesia president director)

34. Youth and Sports Minister Imam Nahrawi (PKB politician)

Source: and AP